< Back to post

Crests of Serie A


Six Serie A clubs have oval crests.
Three Serie A clubs have circular crests.
Ten Serie A clubs have crests in the shape of what might be commonly called a shield (although shields come in many shapes, including circles and ovals). The most common shape is the heater shield, a shield with a flat top that is pointed at the base
Fiorentina's crest is kite-shaped.







Atalanta's badge features the mythological Greek athlete after whom the Bergamo club is named.
Bologna takes its red-on-white cross from its city's coat of arms.
Bologna are nicknamed the Rossoblý, meaning the Red and Blues.
Cagliari include the blindfolded heads of four Moors as displayed on the flag of Sardinia. Unlike these, the heads on the island's flag were changed in 1999 and now face right and have headbands instead of blindfolds.
Cagliari's crest is bordered by a laurel wreath.
The elephant is a prominent symbol of the city of Catania.
Catania's crest is the only in Serie A to feature a football. In comparison, there are 11 balls on Premier League crests and 9 on La Liga crests in 2012-13.
Catania are nicknamed the Rossazzurri, meaning the Red and Light Blues (azure being the colour midway between cyan and blue).
Chievo's logo celebrates Cangrande della Scala, ruler of Verona in the 14th century, who is shown atop a warhorse.
Fiorentina's crest has a large fleur-de-lis, literally a flower of lily. A red fleur-de-lis is an emblem of Florence.
Genoa display a griffin - a legendary creature with the head and wings of an eagle and the body of a lion.
Although Genoa Cricket and Football Club was founded by Englishmen in 1893 (as Genoa Cricket and Athletic Club), the cross on its crest is a reference to the flag of Genoa rather than England.
The star often shown over Inter's badge celebrates reaching the milestone of 10 Serie A titles, which they achieved in 1966. They have a total of 18.
Juventus' crest features a bull, a symbol of Turin (Torino translates to little bull).
The crown on the crest of Juventus is a mural crown, one that represents walls or towers, here alluding to ancient Turin.
Juventus adopted their colours in 1903 after English Juventus player John Savage received black and white striped shirts from a friend who was a supporter of Notts County.

The Old Lady is also nicknamed the Bianconeri - the White and Blacks.
Juventus have displayed two stars above their crest. Each represents 10 Serie A titles. Their 2011-12 league win was their 28th, although the club still recognises the two that were stripped after the Calcioploi match fixing scandal for a total of 30. Juventus do not plan to celebrate this perceived achievement with a third star above their crest, but instead with text meaning '30 won on the pitch' beneath it.
Roman legions would carry an eagle-shaped standard, known as an aquila, and one appears on the crest of Lazio.
Lazio's stripes are probably a nod to the colours of the Greek flag in tribute to the sporting tradition of Ancient Greece. The club is nicknamed the Biancocelesti - the White and Sky Blues.
Milan's red cross on a white background is lifted from the flag of the city of Milan which was originally the personal flag of Saint Ambrose, bishop of Milan in the 4th century.
Milan are nicknamed the Rossoneri, meaning the Red and Blacks.
Milan have sometimes shown a star over their crest since winning their 10th league title in 1979. They have won Serie A a further 8 times.
On Palermo's crest is an eagle, a symbol of the city.
The shirt of Parma's home kit usually features a large black cross on a white background.
The Duchy of Parma, established in the 16th century, was represented by yellow and blue. Parma FC are sometimes nicknamed the Gialloblý.
Delfino Pescara 1936 have a dolphin on their badge.
On their crest, Roma feature a wolf feeding Romulus and Remus. According to legend the brothers, who would go on to found Rome, were fed by animals after being abandoned as babies. The image used is of the Capitoline Wolf, a statue probably dating from the 13th century.
Sampdoria, based in the port city of Genoa, feature on their logo the silhouette of a bearded, pipe-smoking sailor named Baciccia.
Sampdoria was formed in 1946 from a merger of Ginnastica Sampierdarenese, who played in red and black, and Society Andrea Doria, who played in blue and white.
Siena also have a wolf with Romulus and Remus on their badge. Siena is said to be founded by Remus' son, Senius.
Like Juventus and Udinese, Siena take the nickname Bianconeri from their black and white striped shirts.
Torino's crest features a bull, a symbol of Turin (Torino translates to little bull).
The perimeter of Udinese's crest is a laurel wreath. Similar plants appear on the coat of arms of Udine.
< Back to post
The crests are copyright of their respective clubs.